Non-Hemophilia MADNESS


I am always prepared for a bleed. I keep a stock of medical supplies, a hospital bag in the car and I make sure everyone around us knows about Anthony’s condition and what it could mean for him should something bad happen. What I am not prepared for is something non hemophilia related to happen.

Michael has surgery 3 weeks ago to move his…’boys’ ….into the correct location. Recovery went great, Michael was a champ and our follow-up went without a hitch, that is until last night. He has developed an abscess both on his upper thigh and underneath the incision. OMG What do I do! Hospital? That seems a bit rash… Pediatrician? Its Friday I don’t know how much they can really do for him…I guess both?

And so we load up, Anthony at school, and head to the pcp, who in turn sends us to the ER. At the ER they call the surgeon who did the procedure and debate a course of action. Geeze, men and their territory. They decide that Michael shouldn’t be opened up in both places but rather just on his thigh, wouldn’t want to open up old wounds so to speak. Now I have a baby with antibiotics, another incision on his body, and a whole new list of things to do if things go horribly wrong..did I mention I started a new job last week and have to work tonight? My god being a mom is busy work sometimes.

Say something.

