Dream BIG Little One.


As you all know Anthony has a clotting disorder called hemophilia. Don’t be sucked into the myths though, each paper cut does not look like Texas Chainsaw Massacre, he just bleeds longer than your norm. I treat him like a normal little boy; he came with no bubble wrap for the random spurts of jumping off his bed to see if he can land on the dresser. >.< Recently he’s started thinking about what he wants to be when he grows up. For the most part these interests include becoming inanimate objects, such as; a train (a steamy not a diesel), a monster truck, a motor cycle..you get the picture. He also thinks he might enjoy being a firefighter. My response to this? Go for it! Would I prefer he were a doctor? Yes! But how could I ever tell someone they can’t follow their dreams ‘just because.’ Who am I to say he can’t be a firefighter? I figure this is all pretty simple, instead of stressing I’m just going to let him keep dreaming as long as he can and when he gets older either he’ll know his limits enough to stay away from something too dangerous for him or there will be a cure by then. And between now and then if he decides he’s going to play football in highschool I’ll go buy a foam finger and hope like any other mom he doesn’t break his arm.

2 thoughts on “Dream BIG Little One.

  1. I LOVE this!!! That little guys is blessed to have you as a mom! (Protect him when you can but let him live his life!) Even if you weren’t my niece, I’d say “You Rock Sarah Clay!! ” ❤

    • Awh Thanks! I’m tired of being told how to protect him and ‘steer’ him away from dangerous goals. I say screw it! If you want it badly enough you can over come any obstacles, even hemophilia. There are worse things that can happen after all.

Say something.

